Skip to content

Books of 2012

December 28, 2012

I read 33 books this year – up from last year’s 30.  I think the credit is due to the fact that Isaac is sleeping much better this year so I am no longer exhausted during my nightly reading time!

1 Encore Provence Peter Mayle a re-read because I love books about southern France.
2 Papillon Henri Charriere loved it! Still remember it vividly one year later.
3 A Suitable Boy Vikram Seth EH. I like books about India but I had to quite 600 pages into this 1200 page behemoth.  It lost my interest.
4 The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin Benjamin Franklin first book I read on my new Kindle. Surprisingly interesting.
5 The Secret Garden Frances Hodgson Burnett loved it. Cant believe I’d never read it before.  Makes you get excited about spring.
6 Catherine the Great Robert Massie eh. Not the best.
7 Bossypants Tine Fey really funny
8 50 Shades of Grey E L James eh. I didn’t love it, but I had to see what all the fuss was about!
9 The Paris Wife Paula McLain liked it, great insight into Hemingway novels
10 Wind in the Willows Kenneth Grahame I enjoyed Toad and his wild compulsion to drive. 
11 Becoming Odyssa Jennifer Pharr Davis about hiking the appalachian trail.  Disappointing book overall
12 The Woman in White Wilkie Collins victorian mystery, I like it!
13 The spy who came in from the cold John Le Carre  
14 death comes for the archbishop willa cather  
15 The Secret Sharer Joseph Conrad  
16 Middlemarch George Eliot  
17 Iron & Silk Mark Salzman  
18 Wool – Omnibus Edition Hugh Howey interesting sci fi, I enjoyed!
19 The Snowman Jo Nesbo  
20 City of Djinns William Dahlrymple kind of boring
21 Snows of Kilimanjaro & Other Stories Ernest Hemingway  
22 The Secret Race Tyler Hamilton & Daniel Coyle loved it, such an interesting glimpse into the world of bike racing and doping
23 Born to Run christopher McDougall so interesting, all about barefoot running & how humans are evolved to be long distance runners
24 The Psychopath Test Jon Ronson kind of boring, and almost identical to the segment done on this book by This American Life
25 Radio Shangri-La Lisa Napoli about a girl who moves to Bhutan to help start a public radio station. Thought it’d be better.
26 Charlie the Champion of the World Roald Dahl a childhood favorite of mine – still wonderful! Cant wait to read it with Isaac!
27 The Great Brain John D Fitzgerald another childhood favorite, but not quite as great as I’d remembered
28 Gone Girl Gillian Flynn gripping story, fast read
29 The Giver Lois Lowry  
30 Northanger Abbey Jane Austen  
31 Bucolic Plague Josh Kilmer-Purcell liked it!
32 martha inc Christopher Byron a really negative bio on martha.  Didn’t learn much other than negative character accusations
33 Almost French Sarah Turnbull australian moves to france and adjusts to the culture. Interesting.
 

 

Highlights: Papillion, The Secret Garden, Wool, The Secret Race. 

I’m also pleased that I read more biographies than usual (Benjamin Franklin, Catherine the Great, Tina Fey, & Martha Stewart). 

Not surprising, really, but I read tons of books about other countries/culture.  I am obsessed with that topic, though!

A Suitable Boy was the biggest failure of the year, mostly because I wasted my time reading 600 of the 1200 pages and then decided I couldn’t bear to finish.  Other than that I did pretty well at cutting off books that I could see I wasn’t going to like after reading the first 50ish pages.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

