Skip to content

Books of 2010

December 31, 2010
tags:

Happy New Years Eve!  For the first time ever, I successfully kept a list of all the books I read this year.

My favorites were Shantaram, Under the Banner of Heaven, The Spirit Catches you and you fall down, Animal Vegetable Miracle, and A Year in Provence.

Best quick read slash meant-for-teenagers book was Hunger Games.

I didn’t like A Reliable Wife, and expected more from Rebecca (especially after Nancy Pearl said that she was jealous of anyone getting to read it for the first time because it was so amazing)!

Here they are, in chronological order:

  1. Rebecca – DuMaurier
  2. Water for Elephants – Gruen
  3. Same Kind of Different as Me – Hall
  4. Know it All – Jacobs
  5. Old Patagonia Express – Theroux
  6. Crush It – Vaynerchuk
  7. Under the Banner of Heaven – Krakauer
  8. Vineyard in Tuscany – Maté
  9. Great Gatsby – Fitzgerald
  10. Anastasia – Megre
  11. A Reliable Wife – Goolrick
  12. Special Topics in Calamity Physics – Pessl
  13. The Bridge – Remnick
  14. Deception Point – Brown
  15. The Spirit Catches you and you fall down – Fadiman
  16. Sons and Lovers – Lawrence
  17. Centennial – Michener
  18. Naked – Sedaris
  19. Hunger Games – Collins
  20. Catching Fire – Collins
  21. Mocking Jay – Collins
  22. Shantaram – Roberts
  23. A Homemade Life – Wizenberg
  24. Cleaved – Powell
  25. A Year in Provence – Mayle
  26. Animal Vegetable Miracle – Kingsolver
  27. Tale of Two Cities (only 1/2 done…) – Dickens

Did anyone else read any of these this year?  Or have suggestions of what I should put on my 2011 list?  I need to finish Tale of Two Cities, and I also want to read The Brothers Karamazov.  Other than those two, I don’t have any specific plans for my book list.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 7:13 am

    The only book of those that I also read this year was Animal Vegetable Miracle, and that was one of my favorites, as well. It really made me think about where we get our food, and while I’m not going to go live on a farmette, it made me want to!

    Other than that, I tend to read a lot more crap than you read, so I can’t really recommend anything! 🙂

    • January 1, 2011 8:07 am

      Erin I thought of you as I wrote this list because I saw you have a “52 books a year” goal which I dont even come close to. I don’t believe you that you read more junk than me, btw. I mean…Hunger Games! Twilight series last year! Etc 🙂

      • January 2, 2011 6:22 am

        Well….I tend to read a lot of silly books or chick lit, with some more challenging books in there from time to time. I tend to read for escape and books like The Brothers Karamazov, while I’m sure are wonderful, are not escapism for me so very much.

  2. January 4, 2011 10:06 am

    I read the Great Gatsby this year too! And The Spirit Catches You is one of my favorites, I read it when I starting working with a lot of the Hmong families whoe were on my case load for various social services. I read all of the “The girl…” books this year (you know dragon tatoo and its prodigy) which I thoroughly enjoyed.

    • January 4, 2011 11:07 am

      “The girl who…” books are on my list for this year, definitely. I keep hearing they’re good entertaining reads so I’m looking forward to them.

      How did you hear about The Spirit Catches you, did someone at work recommend it to you? That’s so cool that you read it when you started working with a lot of Hmong families!

Trackbacks

  1. Books of 2011 « Seattle Farmette & Baby

Leave a Reply

