Skip to content

Raw Vegetable Crackers

November 1, 2010

I’ve been experimenting with my garage-sale 70s dehydrator find a lot since I brought it home a few months ago.  None of my recipes have been a big success yet, which is why I haven’t posted about it yet.  I know you all have been waiting anxiously to hear about my dehydration recipes though (right??), so I’ll fill you in on what I’ve been doing. 

One of my first recipes were these raw vegetable crackers.  They look pretty, don’t they?

Rocky Mtn with Mom 006

They actually tasted OK, but they weren’t quite good enough to make again.  They turned out less like crispy crackers and more like flatbread.  They were slightly pliable and could possibly be used for some sort of raw sandwich.  But let’s face it – I’m not THAT into raw foods.  I’d rather eat regular bread.   For learning’s sake, here is the recipe:

  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 yellow summer squash
  • 1 red bell pepper
    • process these in the food processor – they should look like colorful confetti when they’re ready.
  • 1 c. raw sunflower seeds
  • 1 c ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 c soy sauce
  • 1/4 c olive oil
    • add the the remaining ingredients, process until well combined but not liquefied.
  • Spread the vegetable and nut confetti on your dehydrator trays and dehydrate at 115 degrees.  I was able to get mine to a little less than 1/4” thick.  Flip them over after about 4 hours and score them into cracker shapes.  Let them continue to dry until crispy-ish.  Mine took overnight.

Rocky Mtn with Mom 005

OK, now since this semi-failed experiment I have done a little reading and found some new information about how flax seeds are to be used in raw cracker recipes.  Here’s what I found out: when you soak raw flax seeds in water, they become super gelatinous.  This gelatinous property is utilized to bind together the raw crackers, enabling you to spread the ‘dough’ thinly in order to ultimately create nice crispy crackers.  So of course I tried it out.  I’ll let you know how it went in a future post.  I’ll give you a hint: it was another educational experience…

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 4:20 am

    To get it thin, how about a rolling pin or one of the tortilla makers where you smash the handle down? Thinner would be better, right?

    Peace & Love

Leave a Reply

