Skip to content

I Got a Dehydrator!

September 27, 2010

We went garage sale-ing again this weekend and I scored a dehydrator!!  I have been wanting one of these for a looong time so that I can experiment with new raw food recipes…but I didn’t want to pay $500 for one.  

Guess how much this one cost?

'Cross 116

$1.50!! 

Granted, I think it is older than me.  It is Montgomery Ward brand, I think it was made in the 70s, and the front door is loose and needs to be taped on.  BUT it works! For $1.50!  I’m not complaining!

'Cross 117

It looks like a gigantic microwave, but when you open the front door there are nine dehydration trays.

'Cross 119 

I made two recipes the first day I got it!  First, I made dehydrated onion crackers, from this recipe.  Main ingredients are flax seed, onions, and sunflower seeds.  I’m excited to be able to eat more of this type of cracker because they’re really tasty, and I’ve been trying to eat more flax…but I don’t like it sprinkled on my oatmeal or in my smoothies.  Crackers are a perfect vehicle!

Here are the onion crackers in all their glory.  Even Jamie loved them!

'Cross 106

Next, I threw together the odds and ends of leftover nuts, seeds, and dried fruit to make these energy bars.  Or cookies, since they’re not in a bar shape?

Almonds, cashews, cherries, cranberries, lemon zest, and a little coconut oil.  They taste a lot like Lara Bars.  

'Cross 113

You will be seeing more of this dehydrator! Yay!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 7:21 am

    Wow, I’m jealous! Those things look great. Are you soaking and spouting your seeds and nuts before you dehydrate in order to get the most nutrition from them?

  2. September 27, 2010 8:16 am

    No, I didn’t soak anything because I was too excited to make something AS FAST AS POSSIBLE!

  3. September 27, 2010 8:18 am

    I’m hungry!

  4. lucia permalink
    November 19, 2010 6:37 pm

    catching up on these posts in one sitting is soooo much fun. i was wondering about this dehydrater when you wrote about the flax seed crackers 🙂 this makes me think of an easy bake oven.

  5. lucia permalink
    November 21, 2010 12:20 pm

    yes, i am back and all caught up! i’ve missed your RAW recipes and OMG Isaac is growing up to be the most gorgeous baby/kid. [Please appreciate that I have a non-family bias :)]

    Also, i am most excited to hear the results of your 5 months pilates case study. I cant believe i have been gone for soooooo long.

    Oh and law school is better but I dont break till mid Dec.

Leave a Reply

