Skip to content

Knitted Winter Helmet

September 23, 2010

I finished my first ever non-rectangular knitting project!  It is a winter hat (more like a helmet) for Isaac.  I tried to get some cute pics of him modeling the helmet but it proved to be 100% impossible.

This was taken a split second after I put the hat on his head.  As you can see, his little hand is already poised for action…

Haircut 001

And begin to puullllll and strettttch the hat off of your head.  Disfigure the hat as much as possible – maybe you will never have to wear it again??

Haircut 003

Enter a momentary daze when you’ve stretched the hat down over your face, but it is still attached to your head due to that pesky chin strap.

Haircut 006

Lumpy and disfigured winter helmet.

Haircut 013

I think I need to wash it, reshape, lay to dry, sedate baby, then put the hat back on him.  Oh I know!  I will also get one those full body snow suits that immobilizes his arms and legs so that he is helpless to remove the hat!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 11:57 am

    Yes, I vote for the snow suit! I wanna watch 🙂

  2. Aunty Linda permalink
    September 23, 2010 12:04 pm

    I take it you’ve watched “A Christmas Story”!!! It is one of our favorite movies. We watch it every Christmas Eve. Just wait till he is old enough to want a genuine Red Ryder 200-shot Carbine Action Air Rifle. Be ready to tell him “You’ll shoot your eye out!” Or just don’t ever let him watch the movie.

  3. September 23, 2010 9:42 pm

    Oh I love that hat! I bet it will be fixed by washing it and laying it flat

  4. September 24, 2010 5:59 am

    The Stay Puft Marshmallow Man snow suit is truly inspired. We did it to you kids, now it’s your turn for revenge!:)
    Peace & Love

  5. September 24, 2010 7:10 pm

    Well, obviously the snow suit HAS to happen now. He is basically ASKING for it!!

    I have to find the energy to wash and reshape the hat before winter hits… 🙂

Leave a Reply

