Skip to content

Homemade Tomato Sauce

September 21, 2010

We recently got a big bag of tomatoes from the garden of a friend of Jamie’s.  We tried to eat them quickly, but couldn’t keep up so I decided to preserve them as tomato sauce!

Apple Butter 020    

In keeping with my lazy ways of homemaking, I wanted to preserve them without removing the peels and seeds.  After all – there is a lot of flavor in nutrition in those parts of the tomato, and I had a hunch my VitaMix could break them down without too much trouble…

Apple Butter 024

Boom! The tomatoes were blended into a nice sauce within 20 seconds, which I then dumped into my big pot.  The mixture was very watery at first, so I simmered it for a few hours to transform it from tomato juice to tomato sauce.   It produced a lot of foam at first, which I skimmed off.

Apple Butter 027

Here it is, looking like actual tomato sauce!  It smelled soooo good.

Apple Butter 037

All those tomatoes (1 1/2 blenders full to be precise) simmered down to create only one jar of sauce.  I am once again amazed at how my produce practically disappears when I preserve it.

Apple Butter 040

Since I only had one jar, I decided not to officially can it (you know, in the hot water bath and all) and I just froze it instead.   Future spaghetti sauce?  I think so!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 6:50 am

    BOOM! That looks so good. Did you sneak a taste too? It’s called “Snitching” and is perfectly appropriate for the cook to do while in the kitchen.*
    * Per “Kitchen Rules of Grandma Erck”

  2. September 22, 2010 7:27 am

    Wow, all those tomatoes and such a little jar of goodies… wahhh. Now you just have to find the recipe for a sauce worthy of your tomatoes. Make sure to tell us about it when you do!

  3. Mel permalink
    September 27, 2010 6:07 am

    I enjoy your site sooo much because I too avoid all the peeling and seed-removal that comes with certain projects!

  4. September 27, 2010 7:00 am

    Thanks Mel, I’m glad someone out there appreciates my lazy ways! 🙂

Leave a Reply

