Skip to content

Plum Harvest

September 7, 2010

Even though we’re not currently living on our own farmette, we are not letting that stop us from acting like it!  Here’s our latest pretend farm adventure:

Plum Harvest 072

I noticed a plum and an apple tree, full of unpicked ripe fruit, in one of our neighbor’s yards so I left a little note taped to her door, asking if I could pick the fruit and offering to share it with her if she was interested.  She called me and said I could pick and keep it all – she’s about to move and doesn’t want any of it!  How exciting!

First we searched for a ladder.  No dice.

Plum Harvest 001

Then we walked down the alley towards the fruit trees.  By the way, it is early September here in Colorado and the weather is amazing.  Clear blue skies, dry, and warm.

Plum Harvest 004

Here are the plums!  We think they are Damsons.  Oval, bluish purple, with yellow green flesh, and very sour.  These are supposed to be really wonderful to make jam with!

Plum Harvest 008

The plum tree was small and the fruit was in perfect condition.  Not touched by bugs or birds, and clustered together & easy to pick.  We stripped the whole tree in about 15 minutes.

Plum Harvest 023

I developed an ingenious picking method involving hanging the picking bag around my neck and filling it with handfuls of plums as I picked.

Plum Harvest 018

Next we moved on to the apple tree.  This tree was much bigger and very difficult to pick without a ladder. 

Plum Harvest 044

We gave it our best shot by standing on a kitchen chair, and then climbing up into the tree.  

Plum Harvest 059

In the end we got 25 apples, and probably 10 lbs of plums!!!  I am thrilled!

Jamie was in charge of cleaning the plums. 

Plum Harvest 066

I plan to make plum preserves, and maybe a plum tart.  Damsons also make good plum liqueur…but we don’t really like liqueur so although it sounds fun I think we are going to skip that one this time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 12:53 pm

    Wow, those would most definitely go with my raw food diet! Are the plums sweet or tart? If they’re for making jam I would think that means tart…

  2. September 7, 2010 1:07 pm

    yes they are SO tart…almost gives you a stomach ache to eat them! Definitely for cooking, I think. Or maybe they’d be good dehydrated? Too bad I don’t own that piece of raw food equipment 🙂

  3. September 8, 2010 5:12 am

    Wow, what a totally lucky score on those fruits! I am so jealous 🙂 It’s not every day free fruit falls into your lap!!

Leave a Reply

