Skip to content

Bicycle Lifestyle

July 23, 2010

As you probably know, I’m into bicycling.  I actually don’t love bicycling as a form of exercise (I think my main problem with it is that it seems like it takes too long) but I really love it as a mode of transportation.  I think that’s one of the reasons I loved our year long bicycle tour so much – it is so fun and satisfying to get from Point A to Point B via your own power.  And you get to see and experience so much more when you’re bicycling somewhere as opposed to driving or taking the bus.  You can hear the birds singing, give a friendly hello to passersby, literally smell the roses as you whiz pass them, and find various roadside treasures.  Oh wait, that last one is mostly for Mr. Safety.

So anyway, I am bringing this up because I saw a new ad campaign for bicycling as part of your lifestyle (rather than as a hard core bike messenger or road racer).  I think this campaign is so awesome – I love the idea of making an effort to get around by your own power.  And I love the idea that you can bicycle even if you’re not hardcore about it.  Good for your health, good for the environment.  

image 

image

image

peopleforbikes.org

I think the US has a long ways to go before people really start riding bikes as a mode of transportation.  Here’s one interesting article that analyzes why fewer Americans ride bikes for transportation vs. European countries.

Commuters in Northern Europe have been lured out of their cars by bike lanes, secure bike parking and easy access to mass transportation. At the same time, steep automobile taxes, congestion-zone fees and go-slow rules have made inner-city driving a costly pain in the neck.

You know what else I think is holding us Americans back?  A lack of cute and functional bicycle accessories.  Americans love to buy stuff, especially when they’re embarking on a new activity or sport.  Bike shops mostly sell black, gray, and neon yellow hardcore and dreary looking bicycle accessories.   Maybe if there were a larger selection of cute bicycle commuting accessories people could get excited about riding to the grocery store.  Wouldn’t it be fun to picture yourself cruising to the grocery store wearing 50s style pedal pushers, sandals, and a wicker handlebar basket that can be detached as used as your grocery basket & bag at checkout?  Oh, and don’t forget the red & white polka-dotted handlebar tape and the strawberry shaped bicycle bell! 

image

image

PS, I just did a quick google search and found these images, among others, at this cool cycle-style page!  http://www.halifaxcycles.com/

I think the only way a lot of people my age can picture themselves bicycling around town is in all spandex with clipless pedals, special biking shoes you can’t walk through the grocery stores in, and one of those tiny under-seat bicycle bags that you could fit a single apple in.  I am going to start a business selling the cute bicycle accessories soon.  Mark my words.

Thoughts?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    July 23, 2010 5:50 pm

    That’s a great idea for a business:) A friend of mine recently did a blog post about Boxcycles and I think they look super cool. Here’s the link…
    http://www.urbanitemom.com/urban/feature-story-boxcycles/

  2. July 24, 2010 7:51 pm

    That is really cool, I have never heard of Boxcycles before!

  3. GrandPapa DEE permalink
    July 25, 2010 3:37 am

    Do you remember the name of your first real bicycle?
    Peace & Love

  4. GrandPapa DEE permalink
    July 25, 2010 6:30 am

    BINGO!

  5. lucia permalink
    November 20, 2010 5:22 am

    i think learning how to ride a bike will be in my 2011 new years resolutions list. then maybe, maybe, i will one day have hope to learning how to drive. (i think i have an aversion to being in control of wheels)

    • November 21, 2010 5:55 am

      I found some cute bicycle accessories the other day here in Boulder, I will help you outfit your bike adorably. You can be my first customer. I am going to call my shop “Cute-cycles”, the pronunciation rhymes with popsicles. !!!

Leave a Reply

