Skip to content

Icelandic Style Strained Yogurt

June 25, 2010
tags:

I splurged today and bought an expensive and fancy greek style (I thought)  yogurt at the grocery store – Siggi’s Icelandic Style Skyr Strained Yogurt.   Look how pretty the package is – it looks like something I should produce on my new Farmette.

Boulder Bubbles Cooking 069

I was also tempted by it because I had just read a review of it here, and she said she LOVED it.  They only sell a non-fat version, which I don’t normally like, but after reading the glowing review I figured I’d give it a try.  Oh and it only has three ingredients – I liked that too.

Boulder Bubbles Cooking 070

Look how creamy it looks! Like a hybrid butter-yogurt!

It does have a very thick creamy texture, which is a good thing.  I ate mine with granola and berries:

Boulder Bubbles Cooking 071

It was pretty good, but honestly I wouldn’t buy it again.  It was much more tangy than I’d expected.  The thing I usually like about greek yogurt is that it is mild and creamy – not too tangy.  I could also tell that it was non-fat which is the 2nd half of the mediocre review.  I would rather eat a little bit of delicious full fat yogurt than non-fat stuff that tastes slightly chalky.  Speaking of the slight chalky taste, I wonder why that happens?  The ingredients were milk, live cultures, and rennet so what could possibly cause a chalky texture?  I like skim milk, but I don’t like other low fat dairy products.  The end.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

