Skip to content

Embroidered Pillow Cases

June 14, 2010

I have been working on a secret project for a few weeks and now I can finally show it to you!  I made a pair of embroidered monogrammed pillow cases as a wedding gift for one of my best friends, Kristan.

I am so excited with how these turned out.  I completely winged the design – I didn’t use a pattern or anything.  I do want to buy an embroidery book some day and I have my eye on this one by Alicia Paulson.  It doesn’t come out until August, though, so I had to make up my own design this time.

For the monogram, I sketched the letters onto the pillowcase with a ballpoint pen (ghetto – but it worked!) and then went over the outline using backstitch & red embroidery floss.  Then I filled in the wide part of each letter using satin stitch & aqua blue floss.  Kristan’s two favorite colors.

W for Witham.

Kristan's Wedding 078

To finish them up I stitched flowers on either side of each monogram.  I didn’t trace these out with a pen first – I just scattered them here and there and made them up as I went.  I made some daisies using the chain stitch, and then various other made up flowers using french knots and straight stitches. 

Kristan's Wedding 077

Kristan's Wedding 079-1

Kristan's Wedding 079

The final product.

Kristan's Wedding 076

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    June 14, 2010 10:45 am

    Those turned out really nice, Sarah! Homemade gifts are the best!!

  2. June 24, 2010 5:46 am

    They are beautiful Sarah. I know she will treasure them! Pillowcases are the best!!!

Leave a Reply

