Skip to content

Massaged Kale Salad

June 7, 2010

This is one of my very favorite salads.  I think I love it because of the texture of the kale – substantial and chewy (in a good way).  After my cheese class yesterday at the Lyons Farmette, I picked up a big bag of freshly picked kale from their farmer’s market.   I miss growing kale in my garden, but buying produce at the farmer’s market is always fun so I guess that makes up for it.  For now….

I made this Massaged Kale Salad with it, and am eating it as a type this!

Here’s my big pile of washed kale:

Crawling Vids 023

Recipe is:

  • One large bunch of kale, chopped into bite sized pieces
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 soft avocado
  • Massage the lemon juice, olive oil, salt, and avocado into the kale with your hands (I hate getting my hands dirty and olive oily, but it never works to stir this salad with a spoon) to evenly distribute the dressing onto the kale.  While you’re doing the mixing, you also try to squash the kale up a little bit to help tenderize it.

You can let it marinate and soften for 30 minutes, or you can eat it right away (like me).  Yum!

Crawling Vids 028

Oh and speaking of lemon juice, I recently bought a new citrus juicer.  I absolutely hate squeezing lemons by hand – it is so hard to get all the juice out and I always have some sort of cut on my hand that gets burned by the lemon juice.   This is the one I bought, by OXO.  It is OK…  Does anyone out there use a citrus juicer they love?

Crawling Vids 026

One Comment leave one →
  1. Johanna permalink
    June 8, 2010 4:01 pm

    I use grandma’s old glass one my mom gave me. If you find a way to avoid the juice in cuts let me know!

Leave a Reply

