Skip to content

Colorado Society

May 21, 2010

OK guys, I am working on getting integrated here in the Colorado community!  Here’s what I’ve got on my social agenda these days.

  • I joined a mom’s group called Luna Moms of Longmont.  Seems like a pretty active group – the members plan all sorts of activities (kid play dates, walks, coffee, crafts, Stroller Strides, etc) and then send out emails about what’s going on & what the upcoming events are.  I wanted to go on a walk yesterday morning around a local park but since Isaac is sick I decided to skip it – that would be bad if he got other babies sick.  Then the mothers would not want to be my friend!
  • Cheese making class at Lyons Farmette.  This is just a one time class, but wouldn’t it be cool if I met someone from around here that had their own little goat farmette?  And I could become friends with them and help take care of their cute goats, and help them make fresh goat cheese? And have picnics on their farm on a quilt – we would eat bread & our homemade cheese! And stuff like that??
  • I’m going to meet up with someone who first “met” us through the bicycle tour blog and has recently relocated to Colorado.  She lives in the mountains outside of Boulder and is a Pilates instructor (Hi Jeannie!).  I’m going to take some Pilates lessons with her, shock her with my extremely weak core strength, and then maybe meet some fun Colorado people through the Pilates studio.  I’m excited!

Ok I think that’s all for now.

Oh and I finally started to take some pictures of the house we’re staying in.  Here’s the kitchen.  Isaac and I listen to this boombox a lot during the day.

Own Power 009

Here’s the view from the kitchen, across the stairs that descend into the basement, and into the living room (where there is the view of the mountains from the couch).

 

Own Power 010

Here’s my fruit display.  I made it pretty for the picture.  This is why I’m so slow at taking pictures of the house for you to see…I need to make it pretty before I show you. 

Own Power 007

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lucia permalink
    May 23, 2010 10:25 pm

    i love your fruit basket. the middle row is sparse. it needs some grapefruits and clementines! i miss my california produce 😦

    p.s. i am still brainstorming better new blog names. i thought RawAmericanBabySmoothie was genius. but whatever :p … you should narrow a top three and have us vote!

    • May 26, 2010 5:09 am

      OK I will start trying to brainstorm new names… but let me know if you come up with any good ones. Nothing is striking my fancy yet. We are getting close to making the decision to stay here in CO for at least a year so I think we can’t be called gypsies. Maybe FailedGypsyFamily? haha

  2. lucia permalink
    May 26, 2010 2:26 pm

    yay a whole year in CO!!! Can I come visit? Hmm although Brian would throw a fit. It might just be worth it for that 🙂

    Hmm maybe an anagram of words:

    http://www.mbhs.edu/~bconnell/cgi-bin/anagram.cgi

    like ‘jamie and sarah’ -> ‘maiden has a jar’
    (and you can pick up organic jam hobby!!!!)

    ‘james and sarah’ -> ‘a sad jane marsh’ hehehe see how fun that is!

    • May 26, 2010 2:27 pm

      yes come visit! that would be so fun! Brian will have a fit, it will be soooo funny. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

