Skip to content

Cooking with Scraps

April 21, 2010

I have been cooking up a storm lately, but these days I do not consider cooking to be a success unless I use up at least one ingredient.  I am on a major mission to use up as much of our food as possible before the move so we don’t have to throw it away.

Yesterday was a very successful day for cooking with scraps.  I am so proud of my efficiency.  Here’s what I made:

Chocolate Chip Cookies, using this recipe.  I want to remember this recipe for the future, by the way, because these made really good cookies – crispy on the edges & chewy in the middle.   Instead of their recommended 2 c. chocolate chips & 1 c. walnuts I did:

  • 1 c. chocolate chips
  • 1 c. chopped almonds
  • 1 c. coconut

Here’s what I used up when making these:

  • The rest of our flour.  We had exactly the right amount (3 c.) left.  I didn’t plan this in advance and was extremely impressed with myself!  It is the ultimate in thriftiness and efficiency to completely use up a bag of flour, especially when the whole thing cost only $2 to buy in the first place.  Jamie likes to tease me that I probably saved about 15 cents. Ha.
  • The rest of our butter.  A note on this – I’d already packed our blender and so decided to partially melt the butter in the microwave before whisking in the sugar.  I’ve never made cookies with melted butter before, but it worked really well.  Meaning – it was easy to mix up the batter and the cookies weren’t too cakey or dense or anything weird.
  • Brown Sugar was used up, too.
  • Coconut was used up.
  • Vanilla was used up.

Are you impressed yet?!   I decided to freeze most of the cookies so we can bring them with us on our roadtrip.

Next I invented a new recipe called Buffalo Bleu Coleslaw “S”.  Lately any recipes I invent are called “blah blah S.”    For example, I’ve recently invented something called Berry Cobbler S, and also Rigatoni S.  Just FYI.  🙂

  • Chopped up a piece of leftover cabbage that was laying in the fridge.
  • A spoonful of mayo.  But didn’t use up the rest of the jar, unfortunately.
  • Sprinkled in a plastic baggie of blue cheese from the freezer.
  • Used up the rest of some very old BBQ sauce.
  • Dash of Tabasco.

I thought the final result was so good that I will probably make it again in the future!  Jamie thought it tasted like the scraps left on your plate when you go out for BBQ… I’m not sure he meant that as a compliment, but I’m impressed with my new recipe anyways.

Last but not least was Pasta (not Spaghetti) & Meatballs made from various scraps. This used up some frozen Meatballs “S” (that I made from scratch a few weeks ago, which at that time had used up our remaining breadcrumbs & parmesan cheese….MOM can you believe I made meatballs?!! I cant!), the last jar of pasta sauce, and a random already-opened bag of pasta.  POW!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. GrandPapa DEE permalink
    April 23, 2010 3:25 am

    Sounds good to me! My sister Jane use to make “Soup” when she cleaned out the refrigerator and freezer. That was the meal that surely got you invited over to her house for dinner! LOL! Jane, don’t get angry with me. The soup was actually pretty good.

    Peace & Love

    • Jane Phillips permalink
      April 25, 2010 4:45 am

      I usually made “Refrigerator Soup” on the week-ends. I called it that because I would open the refrigerator door and put all the leftovers in a pot, add a little stock and let it simmer. And when the kids’ friends stayed for supper, they would usually like it and want the recipe!! Haha!

      • April 25, 2010 6:47 am

        I wish I could make “refrigerator soup” as my last meal here, but I have done such a good job getting rid of food that this is what it would contain:
        Blue Cheese, Lemons, Applesauce, Peas. Oh and we could maybe use some baby formula to thicken up the broth. mmmmm, who wants to come over?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

