Skip to content

Raw Cake, First Try

January 9, 2010

Remember how I said I was going to make a raw cake, and then showed you the picture of the blueberries and cream delicious looking cake?  Well I haven’t made THAT one yet, mainly because I am missing these ingredients:

  • Leftover almond pulp from making almond milk. I know how to make almond milk and have done it before with my VitaMix, but I just haven’t done it recently so don’t have any Leftovers.
  • Cacao butter.  I’m not even sure what this is, I haven’t seen it at the store yet.  Could be one of those things you have to order online because only freaky raw food people want to buy it. 🙂
  • Lechitin.

The exciting news is that I did make a raw food cake this week, it just wasn’t the blueberries & cream one.  I made a chocolate tart instead, using a recipe from my new cookbook Everyday Raw.  The cake (or tart) was really dense, rich, and creamy – kind of like fudge, or one of those flourless dark chocolate cakes.  Unfortunately I forgot to take pictures of it, but it looked just like this one minus the drizzles.  The main ingredients were cashews for creaminess & denseness, agave syrup for sweetness, coconut oil to help it all stay together & firm, and then cocoa powder for chocolate-yness.

image

It was really good, but it was so rich that Jamie and I were not going to be able to come close to eating the whole thing.  So in addition to enjoying it at home, I also brought some slices to dinner with my girlfriends (they all loved it!), and then to the baby playdate yesterday.  The other mom happened to be a vegan and so was really excited about a creamy chocolate tart that was milk & butter free. 

So that was fun.  I want to make another raw cake next week.  I am debating between a lemon/coconut macaroon pie, a pumpkin torte, or the blueberries and cream cake.  Decisions, Decisions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. GrandPapa DEE permalink
    January 9, 2010 8:07 pm

    lemon/coconut macaroon pie

Leave a Reply

