Skip to content

Raw Chocolate Pudding

September 29, 2009

The first time I heard of Raw Foods was during our 2007 world bicycle tour.  We stayed with our friends Taisuke & Brenda in Wellington, New Zealand for a few days and they were following a mainly raw diet, so we had the chance to learn about it from them.  I was super interested in what it was, why they thought it was beneficial, to what extent they followed it, etc, etc.  I had so much fun hearing about it all, and was in total heaven when we had the opportunity to try a bunch of really cool things that we’d never heard of before.  Brenda was starting to build up a small raw foods venture and during the time of our visit she was really into preparing some unique & complex dishes: we got to try her Banana Walnut Chewies, Cashew Coconut Truffles (my favorite!!), Sun-Dried Tomato Crackers, green smoothies, and sprouted raw granola (most of those recipes are on this page of her website if you’re interested).  I love the idea of whole foods eaten in kind of unique and non-traditional ways to make those foods more versatile, interesting, and of course delicious.

Anyhow, since then I’ve read a lot about raw foods.  I’m not interested in being a hard-core raw devotee where I eat 100% raw 100% of the time because being so overly strict about diet doesn’t seem right to me.  Even though I’m not all-in, though, I have enjoyed reading raw food blogs, books, and recipe sites in order to get ideas on fun new dishes to create.  Some of the books I’ve found most interesting have been Victoria Boutenko’s Green For Life, Carol Alt’s Eating in the Raw, and Ani Phyo’s Raw Food Kitchen (which was a gift from my sister in law – thanks Emily!)

I’ve also been slowly building up my raw foods prep kitchen, because many of the more complex (and fun) dishes require some major gear to create them.  Here’s what I’ve got so far:

1. VitaMix Blender.  This is a high-speed extremely powerful blender that can blend practically anything down to a very smooth creamy consistency.  I’m most impressed by its ability to blend frozen fruits with practically no liquid, which allows you to create really healthy ice-cream like fruit sorbets.  These are most commonly used to create shakes, sorbets, dressings, soups, almond milk, hummus, etc, etc.  They’re also very easy to clean because the container & blade are all fused together in one unit so there’s nothing to take apart, scrub, and put back together.  These blenders are painfully pricey but I’d been wanting to invest in one for awhile, so when I started my business development job I decided that I’d buy a VitaMix with the commission from my first big sale.  So I did!

2. Food Processor.  I’d been wanting one of these for awhile to use for chopping and shredding veggies for salads, cheese, along with making things that I didn’t want to blend up perfectly smoothly – pesto and Brenda’s Cashew Coconut Truffles are both good examples.  Jamie got me a food processor for my 29th birthday which was SO exciting. I totally wasn’t expecting it and was SO HAPPY!!!

That’s it for my hardware.  People that are super into raw foods often get big dehydrators, which enables you to make crackers, bread, granola, and dried fruit.  I’m not to that point of dedication yet though…I just eat regular bread & granola 🙂

I’ve been in a bit of a raw foods lull for awhile, but this morning I was browsing blogs and saw a recipe for Raw Chocolate Pudding on this blog.  I realized I had almost all the ingredients on hand so I jumped right in, using Gena’s Chocomole recipe as a guide.  Here’s how it’s made:

– 1 ripe avocado

– approx 8 dates for sweetness

– 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla

– 4 heaping teaspoons of cocoa.  I didn’t have raw cocoa on hand, so I decided to substitute regular old Hershey’s Special Dark baking cocoa (unsweetened).  I used one heaping tablespoon which tastes like exactly the right amount to me.

– drizzles of water to achieve desired texture & smoothness.  I used about 1/4 c.

IMG_3810

You throw everything into the food processor, turn it on, and drizzle in water little by little to get it to blend into a smooth pudding like consistency.

By the way, do you see how I couldn’t keep my giant belly out of the picture?!  It’s definitely time for this baby to get out!

IMG_3813

Scrape down the sides a few times to make sure you’re getting everything to blend together evenly.

IMG_3815

Final step is to scoop it into a bowl and serve!  It tastes just like chocolate pudding, but instead of dairy products, sugar, and saturated fat it is full of vitamins, minerals, fiber, and unsaturated fat from the avocado and dates.  I was really surprised by how delicious this was, because it’s a bit of a creepy looking recipe. I think the mental leap from avocados + dates to chocolate pudding can be a kind of difficult to accept…but you should try it.  It is REALLY good, and not in a “I will make myself choke this down and try to pretend it is pudding” type of way.  Jamie did not want to try it for this very reason, but he finally tasted a little tiny fraction of a spoonful and admitted that it was delicious.  It looks a little dark & gloppy in this picture but I think that’s due to my photography-of-chocolate skills.  Look at Gena’s blog if you want better pics!

IMG_3817

Oh and this final photo is here to document my pregnancy fingernails.  They have been growing really fast and are very strong & white since I’ve been pregnant.  They were looking so good last week that even though I hate to have long fingernails, I couldn’t stand to chop them off.  I mean, look at those babies!  They have been getting in my way, though, so today I said goodbye to them.  It was a relief, but I’m happy to have this picture to remember them by.

IMG_3820

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lucia permalink
    September 29, 2009 4:05 pm

    i just saw miranda this weekend i told her how your blog was inspiring me to eat ‘cleaner’ and more ‘natural’ and to strive for a more balance lifestyle. lucia from 2007 would have gagged at the sight of that pudding, but lucia of today is intrigued.

Leave a Reply

