Skip to content

The Birth Soundtrack

September 17, 2009

Today I bought a new red iPod Nano. Cute cute cute!  And guess what the first thing I’m doing with it is?  Making a Birth Soundtrack so I have something to listen to at the hospital.  This feels really weird.

I am trying to pick mostly relaxing music, with some happy music thrown in.  I am realizing that most of my favorite songs are kind of depressing, though, and don’t seem appropriate for the labor & delivery room.  Lyrics about heartbreak and “why did you do this to me” and pain and suffering might be kind of awkward, no?  Excessive swearing seems like it’d be bizarre, too.

So far I have a variety of songs from a bunch of different artists on the soundtrack.  Bjork, Badly Drawn Boy, Air, Radiohead, Cat Power, Fiona Apple, Erykah Badu, The National, Sufjan Stevens, etc, etc.  Any other suggestions for amazing birth soundtrack songs out there? 🙂

Oh, and you know how you get to “name” your iPod when you sync it up with iTunes?  I named mine “Sweet Weasel” in honor of Amelie (my favorite movie) and Barbie (my favorite pet, who happens to resemble a weasel).  heheh, I love it. What did other people name their iPods?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lucia permalink
    September 18, 2009 8:00 am

    Serani – No Games … think happy Caribbean thoughts 🙂

  2. Andrea Rinehart permalink
    September 18, 2009 8:23 am

    I just watched Amelie 2 nights ago!!

    I think you should change the tempo of your music for the pushing phase of labor- something a little bit more upbeat to keep you encouraged, like “Push It” by Salt ‘n Peppa.

    • September 18, 2009 10:32 am

      hahaha OK good suggestion. I do need some more upbeat stuff. I think Push It would make me start laughing out loud.

      • Johanna permalink
        September 18, 2009 4:27 pm

        This is what I did for eight hours of labor: leaned over my yoga ball upstairs, by myself, while listening to my friends meditation music, like the kind she uses for giving massages. I wanted something like waterfall, stream, wave, sounds for some reason. I knew I wanted this while pregnant and thought of actually taping lake Superior waves crashing but was never able to. It was so helpful to have those consistent sounds. Whatever you feel like listening to will be just right 🙂

  3. Susan permalink
    September 22, 2009 4:59 am

    Hi there! I used to follow your bicycling adventures and I was so sad when you guys stopped blogging. I checked erck.org the other day and was so excited to see you re-entered the blogosphere! HOORAY!

    Congratulations on getting a dog and of course on your impending bundle of joy!

    I named my first ipod Arlis and my newer ipod is named Loden.

    I second “Push It” as a fine laboring song. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

