Skip to content

Corn Fest, Cont…

August 29, 2009

Last night we picked the biggest ears of corn that we were sure were ready to be eaten.  We got six!

jamie corn

I was reminded of our bicycle tour when picking the corn, because it was infested with those bugs I hated most from our trip.  They look sort of like earwigs, with longish bodies, six legs, and a hook/half-moon thing coming off their butts.  They gross me out because they’re always running to hide in the darkest nook or cranny they can find. They were always hiding in the folds of our panniers…and now here they are again in our corn. Ugh!

Jamie shucked the corn while all the animals watched him closely.  But first he let Greta smell the corn.  She thought it smelled so good she wouldn’t mind biting it.

IMG_3534

The chickens were verrrry interested in the corn that was being shucked.  They kept sneak attacking Jamie from all sides, trying to steal a bite.  Here is Betsy in action -  hilarious.

IMG_3541

Final product – six ears of homegrown corn, ready to be cooked!

IMG_3546

The verdict is that we think we let these get a little too big.  They weren’t as sweet and tender as the corn we’re used to buying at the farmer’s market.  The kernels seemed bigger, and I think that pushed them over to the tough side.  Don’t worry, though, we have plenty more ears to pick so we will harvest some smaller ears tonight!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunty Linda permalink
    August 29, 2009 12:51 pm

    Hi Sarah and Jamie, I love your new site. I check often to see how you are doing. About the corn, I usually add a bit of sugar to the water when I boil it, makes the corn alot sweeter! Enjoy! Aunty Linda

    • August 29, 2009 1:25 pm

      Hi Aunty Linda, I’m glad you found the new blog and are having fun reading it! We’re having lots of fun with our backyard & all our pets 🙂 Only 5 weeks till we have a baby, too!

      • Aunty Linda permalink
        August 29, 2009 1:34 pm

        OOPS! I didn’t realize my first comment went through.

  2. Aunty Linda permalink
    August 29, 2009 1:29 pm

    Hi Sarah and Jamie, I love your new website. I check in often to see how you are doing. About the corn, I usually add some sugar to the water when I boil the corn, it makes it alot sweeter. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

