Skip to content

Deluxe Camping & Crochet Mania

August 17, 2009

Jamie went camping with some friends this weekend in celebration of a birthday.  I decided not to go for the full camping experience because I feel very slow, achy, and elderly lately.  Being 8 months pregnant makes me exhausted & uncomfortable, and while in this state I have a very low interest in hiking and sleeping on the ground.  They were only an hour east of Seattle, though, so on Saturday evening I drove out to join them for dinner.

It was a deluxe camp-fire dinner situation.  Every time I go camping it seems like we eat hotdogs (which I don’t like).  Or ramen noodles, which isn’t very camp-ish.  And of course smores, but that’s not technically dinner, right? This campfire dinner was a totally new & impressive experience.

First we grilled ribs over the campfire.  Potatoes and corn on the cob were wrapped in foil and cooked in the coals.

IMG_3392

Austin the Corgi was very interested in our dinner.  His owners told stories of how he loves corn and will nibble it off the cob delicately, like a person.  This sounded too cute to be true, so I got a demonstration.  Awwwwwwww!

Austin eats corn

Here he’s really getting serious about nibbling those kernels off the cob:

Austin Corn closeup

The final course was blueberry cobbler, cooked in a dutch oven!  Who ever heard of making a blueberry cobbler over a campfire? Not me!  We buried it in the hot coals, and then piled some more on top.  Then we rotated it every 15 minutes so it could cook evenly.

IMG_3395

While Jamie was gone on Friday night and Saturday, I went totally nuts with the crocheting.  I don’t know why I suddenly think this is the most fun thing I can possibly think of to do. But I do.  I started a new project and am more than 1/2 way done with it.  It’s called The Sock Monkey blanket, also from my Happy Hooker Crochet book.  It’s made up of a bunch of granny squares, which I haven’t done before:

sock monkey squares

I am slowly getting more advanced with my crochet skills.  I actually managed to make a little monkey face yesterday! And it looks like a monkey, not…a blob, or something!  I’ll make a few more – some get sewed onto the blanket, and one gets sewed on to the matching hat.

monkey face

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

