Skip to content

Labor & Delivery Class + Physical Therapy = Crabby

August 11, 2009

Yesterday was a day of birth related activities.  Not very fun ones, either.  I’ve had a pretty easy pregnancy (other than the surgeries) up until now…no morning sickness or anything like that.  For the past month or so I’ve been having increasing trouble with back & pelvic pain.  The main problem I’ve been having is a TON of tailbone-type pain when transitioning from a sitting position to standing.  It’s horrible, it feels kind of like my bones shifted around while I was sitting and are moving back into place when I stand up, which results in a ton of pain plus a numb right leg for the first few steps.  Also my pelvic bones are really starting to ache when I roll over in bed, or get out of bed, or put on my pants, etc, etc.  It really sucks and I feel very whiney about it.

I got a referral to Physical Therapy, which I started last night.  It was kind of disappointing.  She basically said the pain is being caused by the hormone Relaxin, and it’s all very normal.  She thinks the tailbone pain may be compounded by the way my baby is laying – like maybe he’s pushing on my spinal area and causing additional discomfort. Her suggestions were basically to tighten my lower stomach and butt muscles when standing up in order to stabilize those bones and minimize pain.  She also recommended one exercise where you get on all fours and move your pelvis around in a circle…that might help shift the baby off my spine.  And that’s it.  I kind of felt like I walked away thinking that I just have to deal with this pain for the next 7 weeks and these two PT things might help minimize the pain by, oh, 10% or so.  Waaaaaaah.

Next up was our Labor and Delivery class, put on by Swedish Hospital (which is where we’re having the baby).  This was our third class; the first two had actually been really good.  We leaned about the different phases of labor, joked around with the other first time parents in the class, and in general enjoyed the class.  The third class, though, was not enjoyable at all.  It was the absolute perfect compilation of all the stereotypical & awful things I imagined a birthing class to be about.  All packed into a lovely two hour session.  Here are some highlights:

  • We had to spread out, in couples, around the room.  The teacher put on some “soothing” new age cheesy music.  Then she would give an adjective, and the men had to massage the women in a way that meshed with that adjective.  Playful. Soothing. Serious. Barf.
  • The teacher said she wasn’t hearing enough noises from the women that they were enjoying the massages.  She said she needed to hear more MOANING! Then she went on to say we had to tell our partners how to improve on their massage by saying things like Faster. Slower. More Gentle. Harder. Deeper.  Not kidding.  She thought she was being so funny, but the entire class was totally grossed out & uncomfortable.  I could not believe this was happening to me.
  • THEN she passed out ICE! Which we had to hold in our hands for 1 minute to practice feeling pain and dealing with it as a team.  OMG I had read about this happening in some classes and it was the #1 thing I did not want to do.  And I had to do it.  The class was too small to avoid it, even though I desperately wanted to get up and go to the bathroom for 30 minutes.
  • Finally the men had to pretend they were having a contraction and the women had to practice soothing them slash coaching them through it.  Jamie was very good natured about it all and really got into his role, I was still in shock that I was even participating in this.

By the time we got home and I’d spent the past 4 hours participating in the above types of birth preparation activities, I was in the most awful mood .  I went to bed at 9pm to read because I was so crabby I needed to be alone.  Hmph!

This morning I was in a slightly better mood.  So I took some pictures of my new quilting supplies, and my quilting fabrics (so far).  I also bought an ironing board at Target last night, so I can get started anytime now…

quilting supplies

Here’s the fabric, so far.  I might want to add more fabrics to overshadow the gold colors.  They seem a little too dominant right now.

fabric2

Here’s a list of the projects that I have in progress that I need to finish up, and also some new ones I want to make:

  1. Add border to baby blanket to finish.
  2. Add pom pom to orange hat to finish.
  3. Finish mystery gift for my friend…
  4. Start curtains
  5. Start quilt
  6. Crochet baby sweater using this pattern.  It’s crocheted all in one big piece so seems semi-easy.
  7. Crochet baby booties using this pattern
  8. Or these loafers!

I admit it, I’m way more excited about starting the new projects than about finishing the existing three.  We’ll see what happens.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lucia permalink
    August 13, 2009 8:40 pm

    my mom swears that baby boys are harder to carry and tend to be more painful. hopefully the next one will be a baby girl and u will breeze through the pregnancy just be sheer comparison!

    p.s. i am disgusted by your delivery class teacher and the sex making sounds. how awful and awkward.

  2. August 14, 2009 7:08 am

    Lucia – WHAT next one?! Stop freaking me out!!!

  3. Lucia permalink
    August 14, 2009 7:49 pm

    everyone knows that farm kids are not just raised by chicken and livestock… they tend to have a string of siblings… and no barbie and greta do not count. more babies! yay. at least u can skip future birthing classes

  4. Alison permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:11 am

    I love, love the loafers! I’m very impressed with your DIY ambition … you are so nesting!

Leave a Reply

