Skip to content

Raw Dessert FAIL

June 26, 2010

Raw Dessert Fail 020

I read about Ani Phyo’s Pineapple Ice Box dessert on her blog and thought it sounded delicious.  Then pineapple went on sale at the grocery store.  Which meant I made to make this delicious dessert!  So I did…sort of.  I made a few edits and also got really lazy with measuring ingredients.   And the pineapple may have been slightly lacking in flavor.  Add this up and what do you get?  An official FAIL of a dessert!

Here’s what I started with:

  • 2 cups cashews, soaked.
  • 1/4 c. agave
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil

Blended together until creamy.  I had to add a little orange juice to get things to blend completely because my Vita-Mix masher stick thing is lost in a box somewhere around here…

Next:

  • 2 cups chopped pineapple

I folded the chopped pineapple into the cashew cream, poured it into a pie pan, and froze it. 

The end result is kind of icy in texture and lacking in taste.  It is a little creamy with a (not good) nutty undertone.   This is very depressing, because making these raw desserts is so expensive and effortful.  I let it sit in the freezer for about a week, tried to make myself like it, and then finally got to work on fixing it.  I posted a question on some raw food message boards asking for advice on how to repair this disastrous dessert.  I got a few good suggestions:

  1. Try thawing it out a bit before eating to see if that reduces the iciness and increases the flavor.  Really cold things tend to have less flavor than they would at a warmer temp.
  2. Make a sweet sauce for it.  I have some berries that I could make into a sweet berry syrup.
  3. Thaw the entire thing, then reblend it with the addition of more sweetener, some lemon juice, and some lemon zest.   See if it has more taste. 

I plan to try all of these.  Stay tuned…!

One Comment leave one →
  1. james5555 permalink
    June 29, 2010 10:49 am

    Sorry to hear about your fail. These raw food desserts may inspire you to keep trying till you find something that works for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

