Skip to content

Sunflower Seed Falafels on a Salad

March 3, 2010

I made a new recipe yesterday while Isaac was taking a nap – Falafel made from sunflower seeds rather than garbanzo beans.  I found it online, here, and was really excited to try it because I had a bunch of leftover sunflower seeds that I wasn’t sure how I was going to use.  This recipe can be raw if you have a dehydrator, but since I don’t I just baked them in the oven.   They were super good, I was impressed!

The main ingredient is soaked sunflower seeds.  It’s seasoned with lemon juice, tahini, garlic, onion, parsley, and cumin.  You blend everything up in the food processor until it is the consistency of chunky peanut butter.  I love my food processor!

 IMG_4915

You spoon dollops onto your baking sheet

IMG_4916

…and sprinkle the tops with paprika.  I didn’t have any paprika so I used cayenne pepper – I like spicy food.

 IMG_4917

I baked them for 25 minutes @ 350 degrees, and then I ate them on top of a salad.  Delicious!  Jamie though they’d be good in a pita, just like regular falafel, but I think they’re best with a salad.

 IMG_4918

Also, I ate oatmeal for breakfast yesterday while Isaac sat in his vibrating chair on the table next to me.  I was kind of leaning over my bowl to eat the oatmeal when I glanced up and noticed Isaac was leaning waaaaaay over his chair to get as close as possible to me and the oatmeal.  When I looked up his face was literally like 2 inches from my face.  He thinks everything I do is very interesting!

IMG_4912

One Comment leave one →
  1. dome permalink
    March 3, 2010 1:31 pm

    i like your web sites,

    i have been traveling exstensively and have beet in quite a lot of same places ,

    i found you for the ko payam picture

    which indeed i did like i lot

    wish you guys all the best of luck

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

